Pimento Dram

As always, it’s been a while since my last post.. which means it’s about time I corrected this. this particular post is for two additional reasons as well. First, to just check out the improved "mobile" interface (I’m using my Treo PocketPC), but probably more importantly, to record a recipe I was recently given for "Pimento Dram".

Most likely, you’ve never heard of Pimento Dram (unless of course you arrived here as a result of a search). It is a rum based cordial, that to th best of my knowledge, hasn’t been available in the states for at least a decade. Its primary flavor comes from allspice berries, and while not called for in many recipes, it is used in a variety of old Tiki era drinks.

Murray Stenson, at the Zig Zag Café here in Seattle, encountered an old Jamaican recipe a while back, and has been known to mix up a batch or two for his use at the bar. He recently sent me a copy of the recipe, and I figure one way to keep trak of it would be to post it in my blog…

so without further adeu, here it is:

 

Pimento Dram

  • 1/3 cup whole dried allspice berries
  • 1/2 cup lime juice strained
  • 2 1/4 cups Demarra 151 proof rum
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 oz. cinnamon sticks
  • 1 1/2 lbs. brown sugar
  1. Crush allspice and place with rum and lime juice in a jar.
  2. Cover and leave for ten days.
  3. Boil water, sugar and cinnamon about ten minutes to make a thin syrup.
  4. Strain liquid from berries.
  5. Add rum mixture to syrup.
  6. Cool and strain, then bottle.
  7. Age at least one month.

 

One Response to “Pimento Dram”

  1. Komson Says:

    It\’s cool. I am your fan reading your site and make some drink using your tips. Good.

Leave a comment